Sioux Falls Municipal Band

About the Sioux Falls Municipal Band

The Sioux Falls Municipal Band, one of the oldest and most prestigious bands in the nation, has been performing without interruption since 1919. The band’s performances begin with the Armed Forces Day Celebration in May each season and continue through early August. Special events include the Flag Day performance at Veterans’ Memorial Park, the Independence Day Celebration, and the Jaycees’ annual 4th of July Celebration.

17,000 people annually attend the Municipal Band concerts which include performances each Sunday, and additional performances during the week.

Band members are selected and compensated for their services.

Auditions for the Municipal Band:
Openings for the band will be filled by audition. Please contact the Bandmaster Christopher Hill at 605-201-2551 to schedule. 

2019 Municipal Band Schedule   

Date  Time  Location  Theme  
Friday, May 17, 2019 7:30 p.m. Terrace Park A Century of Progress
Saturday, May 18, 2019 10:00 a.m.
SD Air National Guard
Armed Forces Day
Monday, May 27, 2019 10:00 a.m.
VA Medical Center Memorial Day
Sunday, June 2, 2019
3:00 p.m.
McKennan Park Bandshell
Sousa in SD
Sunday, June 2, 2019
8:00 p.m.
Terrace Park
Roaring 20s
Tuesday, June 4, 2019 7:30 p.m.
Dow Rummel Village
Classic Big Band
Sunday, June 9, 2019
8:00 p.m.
Terrace Park
The Dirty Thirties with guest, Jami Lynn
Friday, June 14, 2019
7:00 p.m.
Veterans' Memorial Park
Honoring Our Flag
Sunday, June 16, 2019
8:00 p.m.
Terrace Park
Paul Hoy Circus with guest, Russell Svenningsen
Tuesday, June 18, 2019
7:30 p.m.
Touchmark at All-Saints
The Greatest Generation
Sunday, June 23, 2019
8:00 p.m.
Terrace Park
The Fabulous 50s, also featuring Arabian Sandscapes by Rossano Galante
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
7:30 p.m.
Sunnycrest Village
Unrest and Moon Landings...the 60’s
Sunday, June 30, 2019
8:00 p.m.
Terrace Park
8-Tracks and Leisure Suits...the 70s
Thursday, July 4, 2019
11:00 a.m.
Falls Park The Falls on the Fourth
Thursday, July 4, 2019
7:30 p.m.
W.H. Lyon Fairgrounds
The Patriots
Sunday, July 7, 2019
8:00 p.m.
Terrace Park
Big Hair, Big Sounds...the 80s
Tuesday, July 9, 2019
7:30 p.m.
Good Samaritan Village
Breaking into Song
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
12 noon
Phillips Avenue Plaza
Mini Muni Band Wind Quintet
Sunday, July 14, 2019
8:00 p.m.
Terrace Park
Party like it’s 1990-99! with band alumni
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
7:30 p.m.
Trail Ridge Windy Cities
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
7:30 p.m.
Phillips Avenue Plaza
Mini Muni Band Brass
Sunday, July 21, 2019
8:00 p.m.
Terrace Park
The New Century
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
7:30 p.m.
Avera Prince of Peace Blare-O
Sunday, July 28, 2019
8:00 p.m.
Terrace Park
The Terrific Teens with guest, Stephanie Herseth Sandlin
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
7:30 p.m.
Good Samaritan Center
Bach, Beethoven, Benny, and the Beatles
Sunday, August 4, 2019
8:00 p.m.
Terrace Park
Grand Finale
Tuesday, August 6, 2019
7:30 p.m.
Levitt Shell
Encore: Looking Forward
Saturday, September 7, 2019
10:00 a.m.
USS SD Battleship Memorial
Memorial 50th Anniversary Special Performance

 

About the Bandmaster

Christopher Hill, Bandmaster, is well known to the Sioux Falls audiences for his performances with the South Dakota Symphony, Dakota Wind Quintet and other groups. He has performed nationally and internationally with some of the world’s most prestigious musical organizations. He holds Bachelor’s and Masters of Music degrees from Temple University.