The Planning Department provides for a wide range of support for the Sioux Falls Community. By using the Shape Sioux Falls 2040 Comprehensive Plan as guidance, the Planning Department strives to accomplish coordination and direction in the development of Sioux Falls.

Planning Division Mission

The Planning Division provides direction for the physical development and quality of life within the city.  The Planning Division shall implement the mission through the development of transit, transportation, and long-range plans, downtown development, historic preservation, and neighborhood conservation activities, and coordination of public improvements and private development with the comprehensive plan, zoning and subdivision ordinances.   

The Planning Department provide a wide range of support for things from helping people work through the Planning Commission and City Council process for things like rezonings or conditional use permits, working with neighboring communities on future plans, to working with state and federal officials on making sure our infrastructure improvements meet the needs of our growing community based on available financial resources. 

The City of Sioux Falls first started planning and zoning with the creation of the Zoning Commission and zoning ordinance on July 25, 1927, following the South Dakota Legislature adoption of a Comprehensive Municipal Zoning Act in 1927. The Planning Department was not established in 1961 after the City Planning Commission was established in 1959.

James Pryde – 2 years (1961 - 1963)

Ed Becker – 11 years (1963 – 1974)

Steve Metli – 31 years (1974 – 2005)

Mike Cooper – 14 years (2005 – 2019)

Jeff Eckhoff - (2019 - Present)

planning contacts

Senior Planner - Sam Trebilcock
Direct Line: 605-367-8890
STrebilcock@SIOUXFALLS.org

Planning Projects Coordinator 
Shawna Goldammer
Direct Phone: (605) 367-8692
sgoldammer@SIOUXFALLS.org

Planning Projects Coordinator 
Jeff Schmitt
Direct Phone: (605) 367-8891
jschmitt@SIOUXFALLS.org

Planning Projects Coordinator 
Russ Sorenson
Direct Phone: (605) 367-8896
rsorenson@SIOUXFALLS.org

Senior Planner - Jason Bieber
Direct Phone: (605) 367-8671
JBieber@siouxfalls.org

Urban Planner - Dustin Powers
Direct Phone: (605) 367-8897
DPowers@siouxfalls.org

Urban Planner - Adam Roach
Direct Phone: (605) 367-8179
ARoach@siouxfalls.org

Urban Planner - Albert Schmidt
Direct Phone: (605) 367-8603
ASchmidt@siouxfalls.org

Other Related Contacts:


Planning & Zoning Specialist
Travis Heiter
Direct Phone: (605) 367-8829
THeiter@siouxfalls.org

Planning & Zoning Specialist
Karla Resendiz
Direct Phone:(605) 367-8895
KResendiz@siouxfalls.org

Planning & Zoning Specialist
Barb Stoltenburg
Direct Phone: (605) 367-8689
BStoltenburg@siouxfalls.org

Planning & Zoning Specialist
Patrick Spellmeyer
Direct Phone: (605) 367-8686
PSpellmeyer@siouxfalls.org

Planning & Zoning Specialist
Bryan Wilcox
Direct Phone: (605) 367-8684
BWilcox@siouxfalls.org

Development Services Manager
Matt Tobias
Direct Phone: (605) 367-1896
MTobias@siouxfalls.org