One-Year Countdown Begins for Mayor Huether

Sioux Falls Mayor Mike Huether, along with City Councilors Erpenbach and Rolfing, will officially leave office on May 15, 2018, one year from today.

“Reality is setting in, Sioux Falls, as I have only one year remaining to serve you as Mayor. Let’s have some fun and get stuff done,” says Mayor Huether.

The next municipal election will take place on April 10, 2018, with a potential runoff election on May 1. Installation of the new Mayor and City Council members will take place on May 15.

Eligible Sioux Falls residents are encouraged to run for one of the five elective offices to be filled in 2018: Mayor, Southeast District, Central District, and two At-Large Council members. The offices currently held by Mayor Huether and Council Members Rex Rolfing (At-Large) and Michelle Erpenbach (Central) are being vacated due to term limits. Council Members Rick Kiley (Southeast) and Christine Erickson (At-Large) are up for reelection and eligible for a second term.

If you are interested in running for office, contact the City Clerk at 605-367-8080,, or in person at Carnegie Town Hall, 235 West Tenth Street.