2016 Municipal Election Information


The Municipal/School Board Election was held on Tuesday, April 12, 2016. 

The municipal positions open are:
At-Large Council Member
Northeast District Council Member
Northwest District Council Member
Southwest District Council Member

Council members are elected to serve one four-year term in either one of five Districts or three At-Large positions.

Council members may serve a total of two consecutive terms.

District Council Members must live within the district from which they are elected. At-Large Council Members must live within the City limits. The job is part-time and the salary is set by City Charter.


City Council Representation

The City of Sioux Falls is divided into five election districts: Central, Northeast, Northwest, Southwest, and Southeast.

The Districts are further divided into election Precincts. 

Districts are represented by a Council Member who is nominated and elected by the voters of that district as well as three Council Members who are nominated and elected by the voters of the city at large. 

Find your Council Members