2017 Districting Commission


James Fry—Southwest District
Jason Wierenga—Southeast District
Mark Millage—Northwest District
Jeffrey Eckhoff—Northeast District
Debra Elofson—Central District

About the 2017 Districting Commission

The commission is required because the City’s population increased by more than 15% since the last redistricting. Pursuant to §6.02(c)(1) of the City Charter, “[f]ollowing each decennial census or upon reliable evidence that the city’s population has increased more than 15% since the last redistricting, the commission shall consult the city council and shall prepare a plan for dividing the city into districts for the election of council members…” Redistricting last occurred in 2011, following the decennial census. At that time, the population was 153,888; in January of this year, the City announced a current population estimate of 178,500, an increase of more than 15%.

Upon the effective date of appointment of members, the Districting Commission may begin meeting to formulate a districting plan to adjust current district boundaries. All meetings will be noticed and open to the public although specific meeting dates and times have not yet been determined. The commission will meet as often as is necessary to develop a plan to adjust district boundaries in accordance with the criteria set forth in the City Charter (§6.02(d.)) At least one public hearing will be held no less than 30 days prior to submission of the plan to the City Council (the plan will be available to the public for inspection and comment no less than thirty days prior to the public hearing(s.)) The plan includes a map and description of districts recommended.

According to §6.02(c)(4) of the City Charter, “[t]he plan shall be deemed adopted by the city council unless disapproved within 21 days by the vote of the majority of all members of the city council. If the city council fails to adopt the plan, it shall return the plan to the commission with its objections, and with the objections of individual members of the council.”

Resulting precinct boundary changes will be addressed by a proposed ordinance to §38.003, Election Precincts, of the Sioux Falls Code of Ordinances.